Media Release

Youth lifesavers excel at 2022 Lifesaving Development Camp

Friday, 8 April 2022

24 of Queensland’s best young surf lifesavers across Queensland have spent the week on the Sunshine Coast taking part in the 2022 Lifesaving Development Camp.


The participants aged from 15 to 17 years have undertaken a range of activities and scenarios which will provide them with additional qualifications to help saves lives.


Today the participants took part in a car crash scenario to test their first aid skills.


SLSQ Membership Training Manager Sam Clutterbuck said the training will help prepare participants for realistic situations they could face both on and off the beach.


“They are taking part in a range of single and multi-patient scenarios,” he said.


“Not only will this put their first aid skills to the test but they will also learn how to manage incidents with multiple casualties involved.


“They will need to work together to treat a range of injuries varying from minor lacerations to amputations and cardiac arrests.”


SLSQ’S members in attendance:


  1. Caylen Bhimji – Port Douglas SLSC
  2. Emily Donoghue – Port Douglas SLSC
  3. Arjan Wynberg – Ellis Beach SLSC
  4. Joseph Ince – Ellis Beach SLSC
  5. Matilda Stone – Arcadian SLSC
  6. Amaya McKinnon – Eimeo SLSC
  7. Hannah Cable – Eimeo SLSC
  8. Kate Born – Mackay SLSC
  9. Klara Close – Mackay SLSC
  • Zac Bennett – Townsville Picnic Bay SLSC
  • Haylee Beer – Emu Park SLSC
  • Jack Wolters – Bundaberg SLSC
  • Ockert Visser – Noosa Head SLSC
  • William Dowd – Maroochydore SLSC
  • Jayden Barrett – Mooloolaba SLSC
  1. Lachlan Ford – Metropolitan Caloundra SLSC
  2. Madeline Crowe – Metropolitan Caloundra SLSC
  3. Matthew Siver – Bribie Island SLSC
  4. Tom Gall – Southport SLSC
  5. Riley Bust – North Burleigh SLSC
  6. Ieuan Watkins – Currumbin SLSC
  7. Ethan Wilson – Currumbin SLSC
  8. Bella Munro – Rainbow Bay SLSC
  9. Kirra Louise Bowman Ievers – Point Danger Branch

Management Team:

  • Elliott Rhodes-Bates Program Coordinator – Alexandra Headland SLSC
  • Courtney Taylor Education Coordinator – Currumbin SLSC
  • Riley Palmer Scenario Coordinator – Marcoola SLSC
  • Aleeshia Edwards Timetable Coordinator – Metropolitan Caloundra SLSC
  • Ian Saunders Communications Coordinator – Cairns SLSC
  • Jesse Witt Shadow Program Coordinator – Etty Bay SLSC
  • Annabel Grant Shadow Education Coordinator – Cairns SLSC
  • Jessica Williamson Shadow Education Coordinator – Ellis Beach SLSC
  • Ainsley Wells Shadow Scenario Coordinator – Townsville Picnic Bay SLSC
  • David Scullion IRB Trainer – Mooloolaba SLSC
  • Gary Williams IRB Trainer – Ellis Beach SLSC
  • Shane Urban IRB Assessor – Coolum Beach SLSC
  • Zachary Henwood IRB Content Expert – Miami Beach SLSC
  • Erin Gibson ECT Content Expert – Cooks Hill SLSC
  • Lilly Tindal Scenario Aid – Noosa Heads SLSC
  • Zoe Breitkreutz SLSQ Representative
  • Sam Clutterbuck SLSQ Representative
  • Jasmin Wallace SLSQ Representative
  • Jonathan Donnelly SLSQ Representative
  • Ned Reardon SLST Representative
  • Nicholas Canales SLST Representative


  • Eliza Trout Point Lookout SLSC
  • Hunter Gear Kirra SLSC
  • Lachlan Cunneen Sunshine Beach SLSC
  • Alisha Davy Cairns SLSC

Subscribe To Our Newsletter