Media Release, Members

Queenslanders nab top awards at SLSA Awards of Excellence

Monday, 9 November 2020

Queensland nominees dominated the list of winners at Surf Life Saving Australia’s National Awards of Excellence, taking out top honors in five of the 13 national awards presented.

Australia’s top surf lifesavers were recognised for their achievements and contributions in last night’s virtual event.

Surf Life Saving Queensland CEO Dave Whimpey congratulated them on being recognised for their outstanding contribution.

“It is great to see our lifesavers, lifeguards and competitors recognised as the best in the country,” he said.

“Each one of them put an enormous effort into ensuring they are the best in their field and it’s great to see them recognised for their dedication.”

Neil John from Sarina SLSC took out the prestigious DHL Surf Lifesaver of the Year for his outstanding leadership as both Club Captain and President, and hard work to boost member engagement at his club.  

Fellow Queenslander Belinda Doman from Coolangatta SLSC was awarded DHL Volunteer of the Year, in recognition of her contribution at all levels across the movement. In addition to various committee roles she also spends countless hours training members in a range of awards.

Sunshine Coast Lifeguard, Corey Jones, claimed DHL Lifeguard of the Year, for his great leadership and positive attitude. Corey has created a healthy environment for all who work in his area, even providing development opportunities for team members by conducting scenario training.

After a breakout season claiming her maiden Coolangatta Gold title and 2019-20 Nutri-Grain IronWoman Series crown, Noosa Heads’ Lana Rogers took out Surf Sports Athlete of the Year. Lana is an extremely focused, determined athlete and role model, assisting with nipper sessions, sponsorship breakfasts and is always encouraging young athletes at the club.

Connor Peabody from Kurrawa SLSC was named Surf Sports Youth Athlete of the Year for his outstanding results throughout the 2019/20 season.

Former Ironman champion Darren Mercer (Noosa Heads SLSC) was inducted into the SLSA Hall of Fame. Darren has had a long and illustrious career in Surf Life Saving over many years as an exemplary athlete and more recently a successful coach of a number of Australian champions.

SLSQ also congratulate Dylan Newbiggin (Sunshine Coast ALS Lifeguards) and Clayton Schilg (Tweed Heads and Coolangatta SLSC) on being awarded Individual Certificate’s of Merit. 

Will Prentice from Tallebudgera SLSC was also awarded an Individual Certificate of Merit with Bronze Insert.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter