QCE Information

Nationally Recognised Training courses run by SLSQ have great benefits for students of Queensland high schools and many of our courses are now eligible for the student to accrue points to be counted towards achieving the Queensland Certificate of Education (QCE).  It is important to understand that it is the unit of competency or the qualification which will count towards QCE, not the SLSA Surf Award.


Queensland Certificate of Education (QCE)
When a student reaches year 10 or turns 16, whichever comes first, the Queensland Studies Authority (QSA) opens a ‘Learning Account’ for them, which monitors and records learning achievements that may count towards their QCE.  When this account it opened, each student is assigned a Learner Unique Identifier (LUI) which is individual to each student.  This LUI is used by learning providers, such as SLSQ, to notify QSA of any enrolments or results achieved by a student.


Which SLSQ Courses Are Aligned To Units of Competency?
Not all courses will accrue points on their own but sometimes when a student has completed several courses over the time that they are in grades 10 – 12 they will have built up enough units towards a qualification to get some points. If the student completes any of the courses listed below, they should complete the VET form so that they are banking units towards eligible qualifications.

·         Bronze Medallion/Certificate II in Public Safety

·         IRB Crew Certificate

·         Silver Medallion IRB Driver

·         Silver Medallion Beach Management

·         Trainers Course

·         Assessors Course


How many points will I get?
The number of points a student will accrue will depend on how many courses they complete and submission to SLSQ of the properly completed VET form.  This form is available from your course Trainer or Assessor.  It is the student’s responsibility to provide the completed form including their LUI number (available from their school) and to provide the completed form to their course Assessor to submit with the rest of the course paperwork.

The Bronze Medallion is aligned to a full Certificate II in Public Safety (Aquatic Rescue) so successful completion will earn 4 points.

The other courses count towards completing either the Certificate III in Public Safety (Aquatic Search and Rescue) or the Certificate IV in Training and Assessment.  How many points you get for these will depend on how many units you complete towards the full qualification.  Points can be accrued based on 25%, 50%, 75% or 100% completion of a qualification.


For further information or enquiries –

Aleisha Gray – 07 3846 8093 or agray@lifesaving.com.au